A fast-paced few days at Frasermedia

kurt

Arriving at a new place can be daunting at the best of times, and arriving for my work experience with Frasermedia was no different. I came down the stairs into the office, and was greeted by everyone. I actually didn’t stay for very long, as I was straight back up the stairs and off to oversee media coverage of the Golden Games at Aberdeen Sports Village.

This was a fantastic way to start my three days of experience, as I was straight in to seeing how the job is done. I met photographers from the Press and Journal, journalists from STV and even the Aberdeen Football Club manager himself, Derek McInnes, outside of Pittodrie Stadium! This really opened my eyes to how much PR could really offer me as a career, and all the different connections and perks this job has.

After coming back to the office, I was in for about 15 minutes before heading off to meet another client. Prior to attending this placement I hadn’t realised how much fieldwork was involved in working in PR, nor how many different and interesting people you could meet on an average day.

The next day I spent in the office, helping to create coverage books for clients, as well as joining in with the rest of the team to brainstorm ideas for a potential client. This was just as interesting as the trips out, if not more so, as they really showed me what PR was all about, and I realised that no matter what I was doing, it was all exciting and varied.

I am aiming for a university degree in public relations and marketing in the next few years, and I feel like this placement has seriously helped me with that goal, as not only do I now have an idea of what I am going into with this line of work, but the experience has really reinforced my determination to get into public relations as a career.

Everyone in the Frasermedia team has been so welcoming and helpful, and I have thoroughly enjoyed my time in the office. I feel my time with Frasermedia has been really productive, and has been such a useful experience to have had. I have been given the chance to play the role of a public relations consultant, and it has been such a useful experience to have.

Thanks for having me, it’s been a blast!

Kurt Grant

Leave a Reply

