It’s not all champagne and caviar in the world of PR

champagne

Driving the Frasermedia beetle, getting used to a MacBook, Starbucks Fridays, and working in the white and pink Frasermedia office are all perks to my new job. Not to mention the great range of clients and all the exciting projects I’ve been involved in since I started here three weeks ago.

I’m Frasermedia’s newest recruit. I’m also a dog obsessed, chocolate addict, all round girly girl, so imagine my delight when I found out that the girls in the office also have very similar interests to me.

I got my first taste of PR when I worked at a consumer PR agency in London. I was extremely fortunate, as I got to go to lots of swanky London Fashion Week after parties on behalf of clients – I even met a few celebs!

Whilst the fast-paced lifestyle of the Big Smoke may appeal to many people, it wasn’t for me and I returned home to the Granite City to continue my career.

Thanks to the release of Absolutely Fabulous the Movie, PR is currently in the spotlight. Fashion magazine editor Patsy Stone and PR agent Edina (Eddy) Monsoon are heavy-drinking, party animals who are notorious for their drunken antics, whilst they desperately try to remain young, fashionable and hip.

Their love of ‘bolly’ and catchphrase of “sweetie, darling” reinforces the idea that the world of PR is all glitz and glam, glasses of champers and air kisses. Even though I’ve worked in PR in London, I can assure you first hand that this stereotype is not an accurate representation!

Everyone I’ve worked with in the PR industry has been hardworking, and that certainly seems to be the case here at Frasermedia. The girls are all completely dedicated to their clients and their jobs, I’m very proud to be part of such a committed and enthusiastic team.

I was made to feel very welcome and even though I’ve only been here for a few weeks, it feels like I’ve been part of the Frasermedia team a lot longer. I’m really looking forward to getting to know the girls properly and showing them what I have to offer.

One thing I love about agency life is getting to work with a mixture of clients. Frasermedia has a really diverse range of clients and I’m very happy that I get to work with businesses from all different sectors. As they say, variety is the spice of life!

Whilst I’m sure that all of us Frasermedia girls are partial to a glass of fizz or a gin at the weekend, we’re nothing like the PR stereotype. Instead, we choose to focus on working hard and seeing results for our clients. I’m much happier with a cup of tea and a packet of chocolate digestives on a weeknight anyways!

Gemma x

Gemma

Leave a Reply

